Delta Tau Alpha participates in the 13th annual Agricultural Quiz Bowl

A three-member team from Fort Hays State University's Delta Tau Alpha, the agricultural honor society, took first place in the 13th Annual Agricultural Quiz Bowl recently on the FHSU campus.

Teams answered questions covering animal science, agronomy, agribusiness and general agriculture knowledge. Amber Hines, Spearville junior, Brian Mapel, Dodge City senior, and Tucker Sexson, Weskan senior, were the first-place team.

Sexon also attended the 47th annual DTA Convention at Texas A&M University, College Station, TX, and competed in the Agriculture Knowledge Bowl in Commerce, TX. He teamed up with two students from Middle Tennessee State University to take first place. Questions were on animal science, plant science, agribusiness and general agricultural knowledge.

Fort Hays State's DTA chapter also won the DTA Corbus Award for the eighth consecutive year. The award is given to the most outstanding DTA chapter based on a scrapbook of chapter activities. The chapter received a plaque and $150.

Delta Tau Alpha is a national agriculture honor society for students who rank in the top 35 percent of their classes and have completed 45 credit hours, of which at least nine are agriculture courses.

Dr. Jean Gleichsner, associate professor of agriculture, is the chapter advisor and serves as the national DTA advisor.

Back to Index

Office of University Relations   |  600 Park Street   |  Hays, KS  67601-4099
(785) 628-4206   |   Fax (785) 628-4152
Kent Steward, Director   |  |  Kurt Beyers, Assistant Director   |