Department of Political Science and Justice Studies soon to split

After 10 years together, the Department of Political Science and Justice Studies will soon split into independent departments. The separation takes effect on June 18.

"It makes sense to operate the departments separately because they're just so different in orientation," said Dr. Paul Faber, dean of the College of Arts and Sciences. "The separation will help to keep faculty and staff on the same page and reduce confusion in the department."

Although the two departments have agreed to operate independently, they will continue to coexist in their Rarick Hall residence.

Dr. Shala Mills, associate professor of political science, will become chair of the Department of Political Science, and Dr. Brian Kinnaird, instructor of justice studies, will become the chair of the Department of Justice Studies. Dr. Dick Heil, the current department chair, will retire in June.

"We all agreed that my retirement was a good time to make the change," said Heil. "And I feel confident that both Dr. Mills and Dr. Kinnaird will be very successful in leading their departments."

Back to Index

Office of University Relations   |  600 Park Street   |  Hays, KS  67601-4099
(785) 628-4206   |   Fax (785) 628-4152
Kent Steward, Director   |  |  Kurt Beyers, Assistant Director   |