Technology studies students national champions

Students of Fort Hays State University's Department of Technology Studies have once again proven on the national level the quality of their education. Riding the wave of their success at the regional level, the students returned from the International Technology Education Association conference in Baltimore, MD, with first-place and second-place trophies.

Of the 72 teams of Technology Education Collegiate Association members representing 16 universities from across the country, four were from FHSU.

"We're all thrown in together, so small schools like FHSU compete against big schools like Purdue," said Kim Stewart, associate professor of technology studies and FHSU's TECA chapter advisor, who traveled to Baltimore with the students.

Teams competed in six areas: Communication, Problem Solving, Manufacturing, Transportation, Teaching Lesson and Technology Challenge.

This year's national champions in Teaching Lesson were Rebecca Applebee, Rossville freshman, and Lindsey Schaefer, Gardner freshman.

Taking second place in Problem Solving were Jessica Cox, Colby senior; Russ Flinn, Cheney junior; Junior Padilla, Satanta senior; and Eric Stuhlsatz, Garden Plain junior.

The Transportation team built one of the two fastest sailing crafts in the competition, but missed breaking into the final four bracket. The team was Ashley Goering, Cimarron senior; Row Fanning, Scott City junior; Tyrel Coker, Hays senior; and Matt Mazouch, Great Bend senior.

Also narrowly missing advancing into the final four was the Technology Challenge team of Eric Denault, Concordia senior; Nick King, Dodge City senior; Lucas Meiar, WaKeeney senior; and Jace Stewart, Hays senior.

Back to Index

Office of University Relations   |  600 Park Street   |  Hays, KS  67601-4099
(785) 628-4206   |   Fax (785) 628-4152
Kent Steward, Director   |  |  Kurt Beyers, Assistant Director   |