FHSU Campus Drive ends active phase with $77,934

Fort Hays State University's campus community gave $77,934 during the active phase of the Campus Drive 2006 campaign, which ended Friday with a check presentation to FHSU President Edward H. Hammond in the Dreiling Lobby of Sheridan Hall.

The check represented pledges and contributions received to date. Gifts will be counted until the end of the fiscal year, June 30. FHSU, faculty and staff were invited to participate in weekly prize drawings compliments of area restaurants, businesses and FHSU departments during the active phase.

"Funds raised in 2006 will support student and staff scholarships, faculty research, department initiatives, athletic programs, the Sternberg Museum of Natural History, Forsyth Library and many other things that make education exceptional at Fort Hays State University," said Cathy Van Doren, director of annual giving for the FHSU Endowment Association.

Winners of the final prize drawings were Dr. Duane Renfrow, associate professor of technology studies, winning a rock sculpture crafted from Lewis Field limestone by Dr. Ed Stehno, retired FHSU professor of education; Norma Keenan, retired office staff from the FHSU Business Office, who won an FHSU tote bag full of "cool stuff" from various FHSU departments; and Laure Gross, administrative assistant in the Docking Institute of Public Affairs, who won a gift certificate for dinner for two at Gutch's, compliments of Kenny Gottschalk, owner.

The campaign began Feb. 8, chaired by Lisa Lang, accounting and database manager of the FHSU Alumni Association; Martin Kollman, multimedia specialist for the Center for Teaching Excellence and Learning Technology; and Dr. Marcia Bannister, professor emeritus of communication disorders.

Earlier prize winners during the campaign were:

--Dr. Paul Faber, dean of the College of Education and Technology

--Dr. Robert Luehrs, teaching excellence coordinator, Center for Teaching Excellence and Learning Technology

--Janice Basgall, senior administrative assistant, Forsyth Library

--Nancy Cunningham, HelpDesk supervisor, Computing and Telecommunications Center

--Carol Hackerott, director of Student Residential Life

--Patty Nicholas, special collections, archives and ethnic collections librarian at Forsyth Library

--Dr. Dave Schmidt, director of the Computing and Telecommunications Center

--Dr. Mike Slattery, professor of educational administration and counseling

Back to Index

Office of University Relations   |  600 Park Street   |  Hays, KS  67601-4099
(785) 628-4206   |   Fax (785) 628-4152
Kent Steward, Director   |  ksteward@fhsu.edu  |  Kurt Beyers, Assistant Director   |  kbeyers@fhsu.edu