Several FHSU faculty members recognized at tenure and promotion reception

HAYS, KS -- Nineteen Fort Hays State University faculty members were honored at the annual Tenure and Promotion Reception on April 23 in the Stouffer Lounge of the Memorial Union on the FHSU campus.

Faculty members were promoted, granted tenure or both. The tenures and promotions begin with the 2003 fiscal year.

Six faculty members were granted tenure:

Dr. Shala Bannister, assistant professor of political science; Dr. Tim Crowley, chair of the Department of Music; Dr. Elmer Finck, chair of the Department of Biological Sciences; Dr. David Goodlett, assistant professor of history; Dr. Carrol Haggard, chair of the Department of Communication; and Dr. Duane Renfrow, associate professor of technology studies.

Eight faculty members were granted tenure and promoted from assistant professor to associate professor:

Dr. Gavin Buffington, physics; Dr. Ali Farahani, computer and information systems; Billie Groth, nursing; Dr. Karen Hickman, biological sciences; Dr. Micol Maughan, business administration; Dr. Germaine Taggart, teacher education; Dr. Rory Terry, economics and finance; and Dr. Tom Wiese, chemistry.

Four faculty were promoted from assistant professor to associate professor:

Dr. Cheryl Hofstetter Duffy, English; Dr. Karolyn Kells, nursing; Dianna Koerner, nursing; and Dr. Rager Moore, music.

Sally Schmidt, nursing, was promoted from instructor to assistant professor.

Back to Index

Office of University Relations   |  600 Park Street   |  Hays, KS  67601-4099
(785) 628-4206   |   Fax (785) 628-4152
Kent Steward, Director   |  |  Kurt Beyers, Assistant Director   |