Stoecklein honored as an outstanding student leader

HAYS, KS -- Fort Hays State University student Tim Stoecklein, Ness City graduate student, was awarded the William N. Wasson Student Leadership and Academic Award from the National Intramural-Recreational Sports Association.

This award recognizes an exceptional student employee of a campus recreation department; it is named after William N. Wasson, founder of NIRSA. Criteria for the award include self-improvement through activities, academic success, volunteerism and leadership.

Stoecklein, a health and human performance major, was chosen from more than 100 applicants nationally and is one of only 12 graduate students in the nation to be honored. He was nominated by Ron Haag, director of campus intramurals and recreation.

The award was presented April 10 at the NIRSA national conference in San Antonio, TX.

Back to Index

Office of University Relations   |  600 Park Street   |  Hays, KS  67601-4099
(785) 628-4206   |   Fax (785) 628-4152
Kent Steward, Director   |  |  Kurt Beyers, Assistant Director   |