Area students in FHSU's media studies program win awards at Kansas broadcasting convention

HAYS, KS -- Students from the media studies program in Fort Hays State University's Department of Information Networking and Telecommunications won two awards at the Kansas Association of Broadcasters Student Seminar and Competition held April 16 in Topeka.

Jenna Stout, Plainville senior, won first place in the college undergraduate TV news internship competition for her work last summer at KBSH-TV 7 in Hays. Stout was responsible for gathering, writing, shooting, editing, producing and anchoring news packages.

Several students received an honorable mention in the TV hard news package competition for their work on the "Kansas State Fair" video, a promotional piece shown at the university's booth at the Kansas State Fair in September. The piece was created by Dustin Armbruster, WaKeeney junior; Matt Bieker, Hays senior; Tijuan Harvey, Denver, CO, senior; Bill Korb, Indianola, NE, junior; Marcella Marez, Phillipsburg graduate student; Amy Renner, Pratt senior; Amy Schmeidler, Hays junior; and Stout.

This was the second such honor for these students; the "Kansas State Fair" video took first place in the instructional/promotional category at the National Broadcasting Society Heartland Region competition held in Bloomington, MN, in October.

In addition to the competition, students at the state conference had the opportunity to meet with professionals from all areas of the radio/TV industry at one-on-one roundtables and a career fair.

Other students attending the conference are listed below by hometown and classification.

CLAY CENTER: Joe Greene, senior
DODGE CITY: Taryn Everhart, freshman
ELLIS: Ryan Newton, junior
GREENSBURG: Angela Shank, senior

Back to Index

Office of University Relations   |  600 Park Street   |  Hays, KS  67601-4099
(785) 628-4206   |   Fax (785) 628-4152
Kent Steward, Director   |  |  Kurt Beyers, Assistant Director   |