Region's scientists to converge on FHSU for 134th annual meeting of the Kansas Academy of Science

HAYS, KS -- Fort Hays State University will be the site of the 134th annual meeting of the Kansas Academy of Science.

The meeting opens at 7:15 p.m. Friday, April 12, with a free public lecture by Joseph T. Collins in the Fort Hays Ballroom of the Memorial Union at Fort Hays State University.

Collins has been named the Wildlife Author Laureate of Kansas by Kansas Gov. Bill Graves. He is director of the Center for North American Herpetology, is herpetologist emeritus from the University of Kansas Natural History Museum, is adjunct herpetologist for the Kansas Biological Survey and is adjunct curator of herpetology for FHSU's Sternberg Museum of Natural History.

His free public lecture, "Venomous Snakes," will be of interest to a general audience, said Greg Liggett, assistant director of the Sternberg Museum.

The meeting of the KAS draws scientists from across the region for this annual exchange of information. The KAS is one of the country's oldest continuously running state academies.

The meeting will be held on the campus on Saturday, April 13, and will feature talks and posters by scientists from all disciplines highlighting their newest work.

Special sessions on vertebrate paleontology have been organized by Michael Everhart, adjunct curator of vertebrate paleontology at the Sternberg Museum, and a special session of the use of Geographic Information Systems was organized by Dr. John Heinrichs, assistant professor of geosciences in FHSU's Department of Geosciences.

Anyone can register at the meeting to attend the scientific presentations. More information on the meeting can be found at the Kansas Academy of Sciences home page ( by following the links for the 134th annual meeting.

Back to Index

Office of University Relations   |  600 Park Street   |  Hays, KS  67601-4099
(785) 628-4206   |   Fax (785) 628-4152
Kent Steward, Director   |  |  Kurt Beyers, Assistant Director   |