FHSU Music Department announces winners for High School Honor Recital

HAYS, KS -- The Department of Music at Fort Hays State University has announced solo winners for the Sixth Annual High School Honor Recital.

The winners are: Tara Bowen, Valley Center, violin; Lindsay Kraisinger, Claflin, vocal; Jennifer Horchem, Ransom, piano; Adam Peithman, Hebron, NE, organ; Brian Flescher, Lawrence, marimba.

Music students in grades 9-11 were eligible to enter the competition by submitting a video tape recording of their performance in December. The competition was judged by faculty members at Ohio University in Athens.

Solo winners will perform at the High School Honor Recital at 3 p.m. April 21 in Beach/Schmidt Auditorium on the FHSU campus. Based on their performance there, they will be eligible to receive monetary awards and music scholarships to FHSU.

The recital is free and open to the public.

Back to Index

Office of University Relations   |  600 Park Street   |  Hays, KS  67601-4099
(785) 628-4206   |   Fax (785) 628-4152
Kent Steward, Director   |  ksteward@fhsu.edu  |  Kurt Beyers, Assistant Director   |  kbeyers@fhsu.edu