FHSU's Greek community honors faculty, staff during celebration week

HAYS, KS -- Six sororities and fraternities commemorated a year of achievement, academics and fun during the annual Greek Week celebration held March 4-8 on the Fort Hays State University campus.

The week's activities included an awards banquet, an impromptu skit night, a day dedicated to community philanthropy and a barbecue at the Sigma Chi fraternity house.

Faculty, staff and administrators were recognized for their interest, participation or contributions to FHSU Greek life at the Greek awards banquet on Monday, March 4. Courtney Paulsen, assistant director of McMindes Hall, and Patti Scott, director of the Student Health Center, were recognized as outstanding staff members, and Dr. Diane Pfeifer, assistant vice president for student affairs, was awarded the title of outstanding administrator.

Outstanding faculty members were also chosen from each academic college. The winners were: Dr. Debbie Mercer, assistant professor of teacher education, from the College of Education; Duane Shepherd, assistant professor of health and human performance, from the College of Health and Life Sciences; William Scott, instructor of physics and chemistry, from the College of Arts and Sciences; and Henry Schwaller IV, instructor of business administration, from the College of Business and Leadership.

The Greek community at FHSU is composed of the Alpha Gamma Delta, Delta Zeta and Sigma Sigma Sigma sororities, and the Sigma Alpha Epsilon, Sigma Chi and Tau Kappa Epsilon fraternities.

Back to Index

Office of University Relations   |  600 Park Street   |  Hays, KS  67601-4099
(785) 628-4206   |   Fax (785) 628-4152
Kent Steward, Director   |  ksteward@fhsu.edu  |  Kurt Beyers, Assistant Director   |  kbeyers@fhsu.edu