FHSU annual Tree Lighting Ceremony winners announced

HAYS, KS -- Fort Hays State University's Student Alumni Association recently announced holiday contest winners during the annual Tree Lighting Ceremony.

The ceremony, led by Brenda Craven, assistant alumni director, was held Nov. 26 on campus. Area elementary school students competed for gift certificates and FHSU student organizations competed to have their ornaments displayed on the tree.

Coloring contest winners in the kindergarten through second-grade division were: Alexis Harris, Roosevelt Elementary, first place; Candra Armbruster, Roosevelt Elementary, second place; and Cody Brown, Wilson Elementary, third place.

Winners in the third- through sixth-grade division: Megan Draper, Holy Family Elementary, first place; Renee Kippes, Holy Family Elementary, second place; and Shae Taylor, Roosevelt Elementary, third place. These award recipients received a gift certificate and their works are displayed in Wendy's Restaurant, Hays.

FHSU campus organizations receiving awards for their entries in the Ornament Decorating Contest include: Protestant Campus Ministry, first place; University Activities Board, second place; and Mortar Board, third place. These prize winning decorations were placed on the university's official holiday tree in the Dreiling Lobby of Sheridan Hall.

Back to Index

Office of University Relations   |  600 Park Street   |  Hays, KS  67601-4099
(785) 628-4206   |   Fax (785) 628-4152
Kent Steward, Director   |  ksteward@fhsu.edu  |  Kurt Beyers, Assistant Director   |  kbeyers@fhsu.edu