FHSU technology studies students win at Rocky Mountain Regional TECA conference

HAYS, KS -- Fort Hays State University's Technology Education Collegiate Association has won yet another battery of victories. Early November saw TECA depart for Fort Collins, CO, to compete in the Rocky Mountain Regional Technology Education Conference and Competitions. They returned with two first-place and one third-place victories.

Technology studies students took first-place honors in the manufacturing competition and placed first and third in the technology challenge event.

Placing first in the manufacturing competition qualifies FHSU to compete in the international conference in Columbus, OH, in March 2002.

"It really is a great situation," said Kim Stewart, assistant professor of technology studies and co-sponsor for the group. "Our kids get to be in a competitive situation where they're testing their skills and knowledge of technology and get to compete against other schools, both regionally and nationally."

These, though, are only their recent accomplishments. TECA has successfully won first-place honors in the regional live manufacturing competition 14 times out of the last 16 years.

Only 1994 and 1998 eluded FHSU's otherwise solid grasp on manufacturing since its first victory in 1986. Eight of the past 15 years TECA has also taken first place nationally in this competition.

Other areas are equally impressive. Since its creation in 1986, FHSU's TECA group has brought home many victories.

Regionally the group has produced three first- and two second-place wins in problem solving, four first- and one second-place win in live communication, four first-, one second- and one third-place win in technology challenge, three first-place wins in technical presentation and four first- and three second-place wins in transportation.

Nationally, the group has brought home a first-place win in problem solving, two second-place wins in live communication, a second-place win in technology challenge, five outstanding chapter awards and many other victories.

Justin Bearley, Kensington senior, was named Outstanding TECA Member at this year's conference. The following students also participated:

Matt Brown, Hays senior.
Brad Canfield, Mulvane senior.
Matt Dunning, Stockton junior.
Jeremy LeDuc, Assaria junior.
Chris Look, Stockton senior.
Kris Munsch, Ness City junior.
Eric Richards, WaKeeney senior.
Travis Stawinski, Basehor junior.

Back to Index

Office of University Relations   |  600 Park Street   |  Hays, KS  67601-4099
(785) 628-4206   |   Fax (785) 628-4152
Kent Steward, Director   |  ksteward@fhsu.edu  |  Kurt Beyers, Assistant Director   |  kbeyers@fhsu.edu