FHSU nurses attend Kansas State Nurses Association Annual Convention

HAYS, KS -- Several Fort Hays State University professors from the Department of Nursing were recognized at the Kansas State Nurses Association's Annual Convention on Oct. 8-9 in Topeka.

Dianna Koerner, associate professor of nursing and coordinator of undergraduate nursing studies, and master's degree candidate Terry Siek, Ransom graduate student and Hays Medical Center's director of education, presented their poster "The Internship: A win-win for nursing education and practice."

Jane Peterson, assistant professor of nursing, along with Patti Scott, director of the Student Health Center, and Sherrie Smith, HMC medical staff coordinator, won the Group No. 2 award for their District 16 newsletter Database.

Dr. Janice Unruh Davidson, professor of nursing, and associate professors of nursing Sue Boos and Dr. Nancy Blume, won the District 16 "Excellence in Continuing Education Honor Roll" award.

Alumnus Terri Johnson was installed as the new president of the Kansas State Nurses Association, the state association affiliated with the national American Nurses Association, the world's largest nursing organization.

Koerner and Dr. Mary Hassett, professor and chair of the Nursing Department, ran a recruiting booth that was well attended by potential students.

Back to Index

Office of University Relations   |  600 Park Street   |  Hays, KS  67601-4099
(785) 628-4206   |   Fax (785) 628-4152
Kent Steward, Director   |  ksteward@fhsu.edu  |  Kurt Beyers, Assistant Director   |  kbeyers@fhsu.edu