Dr. Kayvan Aflatooni wins faculty innovation award

HAYS, KS -- Dr. Kayvan Aflatooni, assistant professor of physics, has been named by a faculty recognition committee as the recipient of the university's Outstanding Teaching Innovation Award for September for his performance in the College of Arts and Sciences.

The faculty recognition program rewards outstanding teacher innovators and outstanding mediated classroom teachers from each of the four colleges of the university. Two other special awards -- Teacher/Scholar/Innovator of the Year and Faculty Advisor of the Year -- are also part of the program. Recipients are selected by a committee chaired or appointed by the respective college deans.

One award is given each month over the period August through May. The award includes a check for $300 and a university lapel pin that signifies teaching excellence. Two-thirds of the financial award is provided by the university and the other third comes from Commerce Bank of Hays, which established a fund with the university to help recognize outstanding faculty teaching.

Speaking on behalf of the selection committee, Dr. Richard Heil, associate professor of political science, said, "Dr. Aflatooni has created a value-added learning environment by providing students with the opportunity to apply what they have learned through traditional course work in a research setting. The knowledge gained from course work is then synthesized and applied to specific open-ended problems. This approach means that students must often refine their experimental technique and apply advanced experimental and theoretical methods as well as practice communication skills through formal papers and presentations. Students work cooperatively in groups with other students and faculty which resembles industrial and academic research in physics."

Dr. Aflatooni came to Fort Hays State University from the University of Nebraska-Lincoln in August 2000. He received his Ph.D. in experimental atomic, molecular and optical physics from the University of Nebraska-Lincoln in 1998.

Back to Index

Office of University Relations   |  600 Park Street   |  Hays, KS  67601-4099
(785) 628-4206   |   Fax (785) 628-4152
Kent Steward, Director   |  ksteward@fhsu.edu  |  Kurt Beyers, Assistant Director   |  kbeyers@fhsu.edu